The Federal Government has announced the appointment of eight new members of the Fair Work Australia Commission.

Federal Minister for Workplace Relations, Bill Shorten, said the appointments to the independent workplace relations tribunal include two new Vice Presidents, four Deputy Presidents and two Commissioners.

"I am very pleased to announce that Mr Joe Catanzariti and Mr Adam Hatcher SC have been appointed as Vice Presidents of the Fair Work Commission,” Mr Shorten said.

Mr Catanzariti has been the National Human Resources Partner and Head of Workplace Relations and Employment Law at Clayton Utz for 25 years. He is also President of the Law Council of Australia and an Adjunct Professor, Work and Organisational Studies, at Sydney University’s Business School.

Mr Hatcher was called to the Bar in 1997 and appointed Senior Counsel in 2010. He specialises in industrial relations and employment law, occupational health and safety, anti-discrimination and administrative law.

The four Deputy Presidents appointed are Ms Ingrid Asbury, Ms Anne Gooley, Mr Val Gostencnik and Mr Jeff Lawrence.